Provincial or territorial ministries

Canada's Constitution gives the ten provinces and three territories jurisdiction over construction. Some cities also have this authority through a special relationship with their provincial authority. To enact building and fire regulations, the provinces, territories, and municipalities pass legislation that references the relevant Codes Canada publications or provincial code.

The provincial and territorial authorities having jurisdiction are responsible for:

  • adopting and enforcing laws and regulations
  • providing interpretation of such laws and regulations
  • providing training and education in such laws and regulations
  • establishing roles and responsibilities of trades people and professionals.

Provincial/territorial ministry contacts:


Municipal Affairs-Community and Technical Support

Purchase codes
Electronic format: NRC Virtual Store

British Columbia

Building Codes & Standards - Province of British Columbia

Fire Safety - Province of British Columbia

Purchase codes
British Columbia Codes


Manitoba Office of the Fire Commissioner

New Brunswick

Public Safety - New Brunswick

Newfoundland and Labrador

Fire and Emergency Services - Newfoundland and Labrador

Northwest Territories

Office of the Fire Marshal - Northwest Territories

Nova Scotia

Office of the Fire Marshal - Nova Scotia


Safety Services - Nunavut


Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing

Office of the Fire Marshal - Ontario

Purchase codes

Prince Edward Island

Inspection Services


Régie du bâtiment du Québec


Building Standards and Licensing

Fire Safety

To purchase the Saskatchewan Plumbing and Drainage Regulations 1996 including the Canadian Plumbing Code 1990: Queen's printer


Building Safety and Standards