NRC IRAP across Canada

NRC IRAP to be integrated into the new Canada Innovation Corporation (CIC)

Learn more

On February 16, 2023, the Government of Canada announced that the National Research Council of Canada Industrial Research Assistance Program (NRC IRAP) will be integrated into the new Canada Innovation Corporation (CIC). The CIC will be a new, operationally independent organization solely dedicated to supporting business R&D across all regions and all sectors of the economy.

The transfer of IRAP will happen after an interim period of approximately 24 months, during which IRAP will remain part of the NRC. During this period, every effort will be made to ensure continuity of program delivery for clients and operational stability for staff. Existing funding agreements will continue and new agreements can be signed.

IRAP employees will continue to work directly with clients, under a business-as-usual approach, to ensure a smooth transition. Please contact your IRAP representative directly if you have questions or are seeking more information.

Share your feedback

We want to provide you with the best possible service. Follow the NRC IRAP feedback process to let us know how we can improve.

Tailored services. Local delivery.

More than 250 field staff and 130 offices across Canada give you access to the National Research Council of Canada Industrial Research Assistance Program (NRC IRAP) wherever your business may be. We tailor our services to your local context and specific technical and business needs. We are also co-located with a wide range of partner organizations focused on supporting small and medium‑sized businesses including local associations, universities and colleges as well as other science and technology departments and institutes.

Pacific and Yukon

Photo of Christopher Ryan
Director General

Christopher Ryan

British Columbia, Yukon

Prairies and Northwest Territories

Robert Faulder
Director General

Robert Faulder

Alberta, Northwest Territories, Manitoba, Saskatchewan


Photo of Michael Curry
Director General

Michael Curry


Photo of André Mouton
Director General (acting)

André Mouton

Atlantic and Nunavut

Grant Sullivan
Director General

Grant Sullivan

Nova Scotia, Newfoundland and Labrador, Nunavut, Prince Edward Island, New Brunswick

Division Services

Photo of Jane Somerville
Director General

Jane Somerville

Client Enablement

Photo of Laural Porth-Jones
Director General

Laural Porth-Jones