Behavioural competencies: Management competencies (MG)

The NRC Management Competency Dictionary


The Management Competency Dictionary lists competencies that can be selected to develop profiles.Footnote 1  The dictionary is not meant to be a management competency profile, but a general list of competencies that can be used to develop additional MG profiles. The competencies are meant to support NRC’s new strategic imperative.

The Dictionary was developed by reviewing the strategic direction of the NRC, MG new accountabilities and job descriptions, as well as by mapping and compiling existing competencies (and values) in use within the NRC. While it focuses on MG roles, some of these competencies could be applicable to non-MG positions pending further analysis. It is an evergreen document; more competencies could be added as NRC revises its MG job descriptions to align them to the new business model and direction.

All MG positions will now include a competency profile that includes seven (7) competencies which will be core to all MG positions (these seven core competencies are highlighted in blue on the diagram below), as well as two (2) to three (3) unique competencies that are specific to that position.

There are fifteen (15) Behavioural Competencies in all (including 4 that are "core"). They reflect the attributes that MG members may require to deliver on the mission, vision and values, and support NRC's strategic imperatives. Only a subset of them would be used to profile a particular position.

There are 6 Technical Competencies (including 3 that are "core"). Technical Competencies are the "knowledge, skills and abilities" areas that are required by employees within a particular function. Often, these competencies are more trainable than behavioural competencies. They describe what the individual needs to know or be able to apply in order to perform effectively in a given role.

How are the competencies presented?

A definition is provided for all competencies listed in the MG Dictionary. Next, a progression of scale is shown; the purpose of this is to indicate the full range of expression of the competency, from the lowest level to the highest. Then, a proficiency scale is presented, which indicates the number of ways a competency can be demonstrated. This is also known as levels of proficiency.

For each proficiency level, several behavioural indicators are provided, to further characterize the competency. Although behavioural indicators from lower proficiency levels are not repeated at higher levels, they nonetheless apply - i.e., if someone has demonstrated proficiency at level three, they are deemed to also possess proficiency at levels one and two, but not necessarily at level four. The scale is progressive from the lowest level to the highest.

The behavioural indicators for each level on the scale are illustrative rather than definitive. That is, they are just potential examples, and other examples of behaviour are possible. An employee does not need to be able to demonstrate all of the behaviours to be considered to be working at that level.

Management competencies

A detailed description of each competency can be found by clicking on the appropriate competency in the table below.

  Competency type Core competencies Non-core competencies
Lead, Motivate & Engage Behavioural Inspirational Leadership Personal Agility Self-Awareness    
Strategic Outlook & Alignment Innovativeness Organizational Understanding Conceptual Thinking Business Acumen
Plan & Execute Behavioural Drive for Results & Efficiency Decisiveness People Management Action Management Analytical Thinking
Leverage Collaborative Relationships Service Orientation      
Technical Financial Management HR Management      
Client Relationship Management Business Development      
Industry Sector Knowledge Asset Management      

Download Management Competencies overview in PDF format (60 KB)