Corporate overview



The NRC is an agency of the Government of Canada, reporting to Parliament through the Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development. It is governed by a council of appointees drawn from its client community.

President's mandate letter

View the mandate letter to Mr. Iain Stewart.

Previous mandate letters

ARCHIVED - Mandate letter to Mr. Iain Stewart (October 18, 2016).

Overview of the NRC Dialogue

Learn more about the NRC Dialogue and the continued renewal of the NRC to support the government's Innovation and Skills Plan.

NRC Council

The NRC Council (comprising the Chair, the President, and up to ten other members) reviews the strategic directions, oversees the performance of the organization and provides a challenge function with respect to the work of the President and senior management. Members bring an independent perspective based upon knowledge and expertise in fields of importance to the NRC's mandate. The President is the chief executive officer of the National Research Council (the body corporate) while the Chair is responsible for providing effective leadership to "the NRC Council" (the Council comprising the Chair, the President and up to ten other members) and for all matters pertaining to organization and functioning of the NRC Council meetings.

The President is appointed for a term of up to five years, while all other members are appointed for terms of up to three years.

Organizational structure

The NRC comprises 4 integrated R&D divisions, each guided by advisory bodies composed of industry leaders. Under these 4 umbrella R&D divisions, we have 14 integrated and consolidated research centres focused on key industry sectors. These research centres represent areas of strategic importance and economic value for Canada. Within each research centre we have a variety of programs focused on addressing specific business-identified priorities and challenges through a unique offering of technical and advisory services, research facilities, licensing opportunities and programs and partnership opportunities.

To complement this broad array of R&D capabilities, NRC's Industrial Research Assistance Program (NRC-IRAP) brings together a diverse network of organizations, services and programs to help Canadian SMEs develop and exploit technologies in the competitive, global knowledge economy.

As a world-leading research organization, NRC is investing strategically in competencies and technology platforms that enable our researchers to remain ahead of the curve in their areas of specialty, while constantly scanning for emerging disciplines for possible future investment, to ensure ongoing relevance and value to Canadian industry.


NRC executive and Directors general

NRC executives are identified as Designated Public Office Holders (DPOH) under the Lobbying Act.

Iain Stewart

Iain Stewart

Dan Wayner

Science Advisor
Dan Wayner

Greg Smallwood

Science Advisor
Greg Smallwood

Research Excellence
Advisory Committee


Carolyn Watters

Chief Digital
Research Officer
Carolyn Watters

Emily Harrison

Human Resources
Emily Harrison,

Alexandra Dagger

Audit and Evaluation
Alexandra Dagger,
Director General


Secretary General
Roger Scott-Douglas

Christine Jodoin

Policy, Strategy and Performance
Christine Jodoin,
Director General

Melanie Cullins

International Innovation Office
Melanie Cullins,
Executive Director (acting)

Erin Skrapek

Corporate Secretariat and Senior Ethics Officer
Erin Skrapek, Director

François Cordeau

Transportation and Manufacturing
François Cordeau,

Ibrahim Yimer


Ibrahim Yimer,
Director General

Éric Baril

Automotive and Surface Transportation
Éric Baril,
Director General

Michel Dumoulin

Michel Dumoulin,

Trevor Nightingale

Trevor Nightingale,
Director General

Susanna Laaksonen

Energy, Mining and Environment
Susanna Laaksonen-Craig,
Director General

David Murrin

Ocean, Coastal and River Engineering
David Murrin,
Director General

Carolyn Watters

Digital Technologies
Carolyn Watters,
Chief Digital Research Officer

Digital Technologies

Roman Szumski

Life Sciences
Roman Szumski,

Denise LeBlanc

Aquatic and Crop Resource Development
Denise LeBlanc,
Director General

Lakshmi Krishnan

Human Health Therapeutics
Lakshmi Krishnan,
Director General

Jean-François Houle

Medical Devices
Jean-François Houle,
Director General

Geneviève Tanguay

Emerging Technologies
Geneviève Tanguay,

Ruth Rayman

Advanced Electronics and Photonics
Ruth Rayman,
Director General


Herzberg Astronomy and Astrophysics
Luc Simard,
Director General

Alan Steele

Alan Steele,
Director General

Dr. Guillermo Ordorica-Garcia

Guillermo Ordorica-Garcia,
Director General

Duncan Stewart

Security and Disruptive Technologies
Duncan Stewart,
Director General

David Lisk

Industrial Research Assistance Program
David Lisk,

Chris Ryan

Pacific Region Christopher Ryan,
Executive Director

Drew McNaughton

Prairie Region
Drew McNaughton,
Executive Director

Michael Curry

Ontario Region
Michael Curry,
Executive Director (acting)


Quebec Region
Llynne Plante,
Executive Director (acting)


Atlantic and Nunavut Region
Robert Faulder,
Executive Director (acting)

Bradley Goodyear

Division Services
Bradley C. Goodyear,
Executive Director

Dale MacMillan

Corporate Services and Chief Financial Officer
Dale MacMillan,

Frank Jefferies

Administrative Services and Property Management
Frank Jefferies,
Director General

Johanne Diotte

Finance and Procurement Services
Johanne Diotte, Director General

Tim Grubb

Tim Grubb,
Executive Director

Maria Aubrey

Business and Professional Services
Maria Aubrey,

Lucie Vignola

Lucie Vignola,
Director General

Paul Treboutat

Design and Fabrication Services
Paul Treboutat,
Director General

Lucie Robitaille

Health, Safety and Environment
Lucie Robitaille,
Director General

Paul Wagner

Knowledge, Information and Technology
Paul N. Wagner ,
Chief Information Officer and Director General

Chris Johnstone

National Programs and Business Services
Christopher Johnstone,
Director General