Research Ethics Board


The NRC's Research Ethics Board (NRC-REB), and its support staff are central to the NRC's human participant ethics functions.

Reporting to the Senior Executive Committee through the Secretary General, the NRC's REB reviews applications for human participants ethics approval, oversees and advises on the ethical aspects of all research involving human participants in which the NRC participates, and provides a resource for education, guidance and leadership in the application of ethical principles in the conduct of research involving human participants.

Meeting schedule

The NRC Research Ethics Board meets regularly (see schedule below).

Protocols can be submitted at any time and may be processed outside of the meeting schedule if they are eligible for Chair or Sub-committee review.  Protocols that are eligible for sub-committee review, but are submitted on or near the meeting submission deadline, will be included on the meeting agenda. 

Please contact the NRC-REB Secretariat ( with any questions.

Meeting dates Submission deadlines
January 15, 2020 January 02, 2020
February 19, 2020 February 05, 2020
March 18, 2020 March 04, 2020
April 15, 2020 April 01, 2020
May 20, 2019 May 06, 2020
June 17, 2020 June 03, 2020
August 19, 2020 August 05, 2020
September 16, 2020 September 02, 2020
October 21, 2020 October 07, 2020
November 18, 2020 November 04, 2020

Membership list


  • Gordon DuVal, SJD
    Carleton University, Office of Research Ethics

Vice Chair

  • Roxanne Deslauriers, Ph.D.
    Independent Consultant

Resource Persons


  • Steven Beyea, Ph.D.
    Independent Consultant
  • Christopher Brown
    Industrial Research Assistance Program
    National Research Council
  • Robert Czerny
    Independent Consultant
  • Geneviève Gagnon
    Canadian Pharmacists Association
  • Margaret McKay
    Digital Technologies
    National Research Council
  • Jonathan Power, Ph.D.
    Ocean, Coastal and River Engineering
    National Research Council
  • Martine Richard
    Office of the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner
  • Dan Trudeau
    Industrial Research Assistance Program
    National Research Council
  • Jennifer Veitch, Ph.D.
    National Research Council