Canadian Commission on Building and Fire Codes (CCBFC) members

For the latest information about code changes and provisions in the National Model Codes or details about the National Model Codes development system, please visit the Canadian Commission on Building and Fire Codes website.

Members of the Canadian Commission on Building and Fire Codes (CCBFC) are selected from across Canada for their individual interests and expertise rather than as delegates of any association or group. They are selected with a view to providing broad technical and geographical representation and are appointed by the National Research Council of Canada.


Please direct all media requests about the CCBFC to the Secretary of the CCBFC or phone (613) 993-9960.

Name Organization Location
Douglas Crawford (Chair)
Chair, CCBFC
CCBFC Newmarket, Ontario
Sefton Hyde-Clarke (Deputy Chair)
Deputy Chair, CCBFC
National Research Council of Canada, Construction Research Centre Ottawa, Ontario
Mariette Bechara Borough of Outremont - City of Montreal Montréal, Québec
Chantal Bibeau Service Centre - Expertise and Development of Prevention of the service of fire safety of Montreal Montréal, Québec
Paul Blaser RBM Architecture Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Robert Chomiak CCBFC Alberta
Tom Cochren Thomas Cochren Homes Waterdown, Ontario
Silvia Garcia Régie du bâtiment du Québec Montréal, Québec
Klaus Gloge PCL Constructors Canada Inc. Mississauga, Ontario
Kevin Griffiths Safety Codes Council Victoria, British Columbia
Tammy Harper Red River College Winnipeg, Manitoba
Collinda Joseph Office for Disability Issues Stittsville, Ontario
Mansoor Mahmood Ontario Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing Toronto, Ontario
John McKearney Whistler Fire Rescue Service Whistler, British Columbia
Shane Ottens Mattamy Homes (Ottawa) Fitzroy Harbour, Ontario
Kasey Plante Department of National Defence Gatineau, Québec
Randy Richard City of Moncton Dieppe, New Brunswick
Ted Ross CCBFC Halifax, Nova Scotia
Trudy Rotgans Government of British Columbia Victoria, British Columbia
Robert Rymell RBS Consulting Engineering Group Inc. Innisfil, Ontario
Cara Sandulak Yukon Government, Capital Development Whitehorse, Yukon Territory
Peter Senez Senez Consulting Ltd Delta, British Columbia
Linda Strobl CCBFC Ayr, Ontario
Diane Sullivan TD Insurance Toronto, Ontario
Sariq Turner Island Dynamics Inc. Corner Brook, Newfoundland and Labrador
Douglas Watts Read Jones Christoffersen Ltd. Vancouver, British Columbia
Stefan Zmigrodzki CIMA+ Longueuil, Québec
Perry Adebar (Ex-officio) University of British Columbia Langley, British Columbia
Henri Bouchard (Ex-officio) Corporation des maîtres mécaniciens en tuyauterie du Québec Varennes, Québec
Hardy Bromberg (Ex-officio) City of Cambridge St. Jacobs, Ontario
Michel Dumoulin (Ex-officio, non-voting) National Research Council of Canada / Government of Canada Ottawa, Ontario
David Kayll (Ex-officio) Morrison Hershfield Limited Ottawa, Ontario
William Kuffner (Ex-officio) SNC-Lavalin Ottawa, Ontario
Alana MacLellan-Bonnell (Ex-officio) Jensen Hughes Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Ghyslaine McClure (Ex-officio) McGill University Department of Civil Engineering and Applied Mechanics Montréal, Québec
James Orr (Ex-officio, non-voting) Alberta Municipal Affairs Edmonton, Alberta
Leslie Peer (Ex-officio, non-voting)
Reed Jones Christoffersen Ltd. Kelowna, British Columbia
Andrew Pride (Ex-officio) Andrew Pride Consulting Burlington, Ontario
Bruce Schultz (Ex-officio) Alberta Safety Codes Council Airdrie, Alberta
Rob Brooks (Key stakeholder, non-voting) Chemistry Industry Association of Canada (CIAC) Eagle, Idaho
Mary Cianchetti (Key stakeholder, non-voting) Standards Development Organization Advisory Committee (SCC) Toronto, Ontario
Kathleen Maynard (Key stakeholder, non-voting) Canadian Home Builders’ Association Ottawa, Ontario
Kevin McKinley (Key stakeholder, non-voting) Canadian Wood Council Ottawa, Ontario
Michael McSweeney (Key stakeholder, non-voting) Cement Association of Canada Ottawa, Ontario
Ruth Talbot (Key stakeholder, non-voting) Natural Resources Canada Ottawa, Ontario
Ed Whalen (Key stakeholder, non-voting) Canadian Steel Construction Council Markham, Ontario
Anne Gribbon (Staff)
Secretary, CCBFC
National Research Council of Canada Ottawa, Ontario
André Laroche (Staff) National Research Council of Canada Ottawa, Ontario